ARRS awards scholarships to two emerging researchers

Ian Mark, MD. Image courtesy of the ARRS.Ian Mark, MD. Image courtesy of the ARRS.

The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) is awarding its two 2024 ARRS Scholarships to Ian Mark, MD, of Mayo Clinic Minnesota and Evan Calabrese, MD, PhD, of Duke University Medical Center.

The scholarships, provided by ARRS' "The Roetgen Fund," support early-career faculty members pursuing radiological research seeking to change how medical imaging is practiced. They are intended to advance emerging scholars and prepare them for leadership. Each scholarship is a two-year grant that totals $180,000.

Mark completed his diagnostic radiology residency at Mayo Clinic, where he was chief resident. He subsequently completed a neuroradiology fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco, where he was chief fellow. Since returning to Mayo Clinic as faculty, Mark joined the spine intervention practice, where he performs various types of myelography for the diagnosis of spontaneous intracranial hypotension.

Evan Calabrese, MD, PhD. Image courtesy of the ARRS.Evan Calabrese, MD, PhD. Image courtesy of the ARRS.

Calabrese works in the departments of radiology and biomedical engineering at the Duke Center for Artificial Intelligence in Radiology (DAIR). Calabrese’s primary research focuses on the use of automated image processing techniques, including AI, to help extract clinically useful information from multimodal neuroimaging data with a focus on applications in neuro-oncology.

ARRS invites medical schools, affiliated hospitals, and clinical research institutions with training interests in diagnostic radiology, nuclear medicine, allied sciences, or other professions fundamental to imaging techniques to submit one nomination for the 2025 ARRS Scholarships.

Page 1 of 1