ASTRO names new board officers, awards fellowships

2019 09 16 03 57 7061 Astro 2019 400

Members of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) recently elected three new officers to its board of directors, with officers to begin their terms in October.

Newly elected officers include Sameer Keole, MD, president-elect; Wendy Woodward, MD, PhD, science council vice chair; and Vivek Kavadi, MD, health policy council vice chair.

During his four-year term, Keole will represent the society's 10,000 members, who include physicians, physicists, biologists, dosimetrists, radiation therapists, nurses, and other professionals involved in radiation oncology care, ASTRO said. Woodward and Kavadi will serve two-year terms as vice chairs followed by two-year terms as chairs of their respective councils.

In other news, ASTRO selected 29 members to receive the ASTRO Fellow designation for its 2023 class of fellows. The program recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the society and to the field of radiation oncology through research, education, patient care, and service to the field.

These physicians will be recognized at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, October 3, during ASTRO's 2023 annual meeting in San Diego, the society said.

Page 1 of 460
Next Page