Radiology leadership changes to begin in the new year

Applause Honors Resized

2024 will see term beginnings for newly appointed radiology chairs.

University of Wisconsin

In December, the University of Wisconsin (UW) School of Medicine and Public Health named Scott Reeder, MD, PhD, chair of the department of radiology. Reeder's term becomes effective in early 2024, according to UW.

Reeder has been faculty at UW-Madison since 2005 and previously served as director of the clinical magnetic resonance imaging fellowship, chief of MRI, chief of sectional cardiovascular imaging, and senior vice chair of research.

As director of the UW Liver Imaging Research Program, Reeder leads work on the technical development and translation of new liver imaging methods, particularly quantitative imaging biomarkers. He is also founder of Calimetrix, a Madison-based startup that designs, manufactures, and markets advanced MRI test objects called "phantoms" to aid in research.

University of Nebraska

Effective January 1, 2024, Craig Walker, MD, will step down from his role as chair of the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) Department of Radiology, according to UNMC. Through his more than two decades as chair, Walker has overseen the integration of radiology departments at Nebraska Medicine and Clarkson and is credited with growing the department to close to 55 diagnostic radiologists.

In a UNMC statement, Walker said he hoped to shift his focus from administration to clinical work and resident education. Matthew DeVries, MD, will lead UNMC's department of radiology on an interim basis.

University of Virginia

At the University of Virginia (UVA) School of Medicine, Colin Derdeyn, MD, a stroke care specialist from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, was appointed chair of the UVA Department of Radiology and Medical Imaging, UVA Health announced in October 2023. Derdeyn begins January 2, 2024, and will succeed Alan Matsumoto, MD, who has served as chair since 2009.

Chair of the department of radiology at University of Iowa since 2015, Derdeyn previously served as a professor of radiology, neurology, and neurological surgery at Washington University School of Medicine and as director of the Washington University/Barnes Jewish Hospital Stroke and Cerebrovascular Center.

According to UVA statement, Derdeyn played a key role in creating a 10-year, $4.3 billion plan to expand patient-care services and expand facilities at the University of Iowa, experience that will help shape a 10-year strategic growth plan at UVA Health.

Columbia University

Physician scientist Ajay Gupta, MD, MS, will begin terms as chair of the Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons Department of Radiology and radiologist in chief at New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center (CUIMC) on February 1, 2024.

Gupta specializes in neuroradiology and has served as vice chair for research in the Department of Radiology at Weill Cornell Medicine where he has held professorships in radiology and neuroscience. At Weill Cornell, Gupta oversaw a nearly five-fold increase in federal research funding across the radiology department and modernization of research imaging infrastructure and facilities, according to CUIMC.

Page 1 of 119
Next Page