By staff writers

June 28, 2017 -- The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has awarded its Gold Medal to three members in 2017.

The new awardees are as follows:

  • Søren Bentzen, DMSc, PhD, a professor and director of the division of biostatistics and bioinformatics in the department of epidemiology and public health at the University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Dr. Louis Harrison, chair of radiation oncology and deputy physician-in-chief at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, FL
  • Dr. Michael Steinberg, a professor and chair of the department of radiation oncology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

ASTRO has now awarded Gold Medals for the 41st consecutive year. The latest recipients will join the 81 current Gold Medalists, according to the society.

Copyright © 2017

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking