HHS chooses 12 regions for EHR initiative

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has designated a total of 12 states and communities to participate in its national Medicare demonstration project that will provide financial incentives to physicians who use certified electronic health records (EHRs) to improve patient care.

The regions selected to work with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on the EHR demonstration project are Alabama; Delaware; Georgia; Maine; Louisiana; Maryland/Washington, DC; Oklahoma; South Dakota; Virginia; Pittsburgh; Madison, WI; and Jacksonville, FL.

The 12 entities were selected from more than 30 applicants.

Over the five-year demonstration project, financial incentives will be provided to as many as 1,200 primary care physician practices that use certified EHRs to improve quality as measured by their performance on specific clinical quality measures.

Total payments for all five years may be as great as $58,000 per physician or $290,000 per practice.

Related Reading

National IT standards need to be locally controlled, February 26, 2008

Copyright © 2008 AuntMinnie.com

Page 1 of 603
Next Page