SNMMI releases slate of officers for 2021-2022 term

By staff writers

June 15, 2021 -- The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) has released its slate of officers for its 2021-2022 term, headed by Dr. Richard Wahl as president.

Dr. Richard Wahl
Dr. Richard Wahl.

Named president-elect by SNMMI last year, Wahl is the head of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and he is also the director of the university's Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.

Wahl also serves as chair of research and discovery for SNMMI's Value Initiative, and he has served on the board of the Journal of Nuclear Medicine for many years. He holds 18 patents and has published more than 460 peer-reviewed scientific manuscripts.

In addition to Wahl's appointment, the SNMMI elected Dr. Munir Ghesani as president-elect. Ghesani is chief of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging at Mount Sinai Health Enterprise and is an associate professor of radiology at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City.

Ghesani's goals for his term from 2021 to 2022 include working to streamline the approval of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging technologies, in particular by creating a clear regulatory path through the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. He also supports the development of quality measures for reporting and appropriate use criteria, as well as establishing a stable supply of isotopes in the U.S.

Named vice president-elect is Dr. Helen Nadel, director of pediatric nuclear medicine at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford University; Nadel is also a clinical professor of radiology at Stanford School of Medicine. Nadel's emphasis will be on creating an ongoing workgroup to address preparedness issues, such as the ones the discipline faced during the COVID-19 pandemic.

SNMMI also announced officers for its Technologist Section (SNMMI-TS). Dusty York was named president for the 2021-2022 term; she is associate professor and clinical coordinator of the nuclear medicine program at Chattanooga State Community College in Chattanooga, TN.

Named as president-elect was Krystle Glasgow, teacher and clinical coordinator at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in Birmingham, AL. Glasgow serves on the membership, finance, and publication committees at SNMMI-TS, and also on the editorial board of the group's Uptake newsletter.

Copyright © 2021
Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking