Joint Commission posts new diagnostic imaging rules

By staff writers

February 25, 2016 -- The Joint Commission has released new requirements for diagnostic imaging services that are applicable to hospitals and critical access facilities.

The new requirements stipulate the following:

  • Technologists who perform diagnostic CT exams must have advanced-level certification by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) in CT, or state licensure that allows them to perform diagnostic CT exams; registration and certification in radiography by ARRT; or certification in nuclear medicine technology by ARRT or NMTCB.
  • Technologists who conduct diagnostic CT exams must participate in education that prepares them to have advanced-level certification in the modality by January 1, 2018.
  • A facility's medical staff determines the qualifications of the radiology staff that use imaging equipment and administer procedures.
  • Diagnostic CT protocols are reviewed and kept current with input from an interpreting physician, a medical physicist, and a lead imaging technologist.

The rules will go into effect on September 1, 2016.

Copyright © 2016

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking