By staff writers

February 5, 2015 -- Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) have introduced federal breast density notification legislation to the 114th U.S. Congress.

The Breast Density and Mammography Reporting Act would require mammography reports to include whether or not the patient has dense tissue, so she can discuss with her doctor whether she should seek additional screening.

The bill is co-sponsored by Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA).

Copyright © 2015

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking