SIIM announces award and prize winners

By staff writers

July 31, 2020 -- The Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine (SIIM) recognized the achievements of its members at the society's virtual 2020 annual meeting, which was held on June 24-26.

On June 25, SIIM recognized the medical imaging achievements and accomplishments of Dr. Tessa Cook, PhD, and Dr. Barton Branstetter IV by inducting them into the College of SIIM Fellows. The recognition of fellowship is the society's highest honor, SIIM noted.

The society also presented the following awards and prizes at the meeting:

  • Journal of Digital Imaging awards
    • Best paper -- Rita Noumeir
    • Most valuable reviewer -- Victoria Barnosky, PhD
    • Most downloaded paper -- Mohammad Hesam Hesamian, Wenjing Jia, Xiangjian He, and Paul Kennedy
  • Honorary awards
    • Dr. Joe Gitlin award -- Janice Honeyman-Buck, PhD
    • Dr. Ruth Dayhoff award -- Dr. Tessa Cook, PhD
    • Early Career Achievement award -- Dr. Joseph Stember, PhD
    • Gold Medal of the Society award -- Dr. David Avrin, PhD
    • Imaging Informatics Innovator Award -- Wei Qian, PhD
    • Educator Award -- Herman Oosterwijk
  • Hackathon winners
    • First place prize -- CaseTracker
    • Audience choice -- DEID Recipe Builder
    • Doing More Together award -- Great Lakes #1
  • Helen and Paul Chang Foundation New Investigator Travel award -- Dr. Paul Yi; Dr. Joseph Stember, PhD; Dr. Teresa Martin-Carreras; Dr. Brian Xavier

Copyright © 2020

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking