ACR taps Monticciolo as new president

By staff writers

May 21, 2019 -- The American College of Radiology (ACR) named Dr. Debra Monticciolo as its new president as part of a new slate of officers elected at the ACR's recent annual meeting in Washington, DC.

Monticciolo is the immediate past-chair of the ACR Commission on Breast Imaging and past president of the Society of Breast Imaging. She is also currently vice chair of the department of radiology (for research) and section chief of breast imaging at Baylor Scott & White Medical Center - Temple in Temple, TX, as well as a professor of radiology at Texas A&M University. In addition, Monticciolo has served two terms on the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee, according to the ACR.

Dr. Debra Monticciolo
Dr. Debra Monticciolo, president of ACR.

The ACR has also elected Dr. Katarzyna Macura, PhD, as vice president. Macura is a professor of radiology at Johns Hopkins Medicine in Baltimore and a professor of oncology and urology at Johns Hopkins Medical School. She is an ACR fellow and the former co-chair of the ACR Commission on Women and Diversity, a member of the ACR Advanced Prostate Imaging and Targeted Therapy Committee, and a former member of the ACR Artificial Intelligence Advisory Group.

The ACR has also elected Dr. Richard Duszak Jr. of Emory University in Atlanta as speaker of the ACR Council. He had previously served as vice speaker. Dr. Amy Kotsenas of the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, will replace Duszak as vice speaker.

In other news from ACR 2019, the college has named Dr. Daniel Picus of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis as the latest recipient of its Thorwarth Award for outstanding contributions to the field of health policy and economics in radiology. Picus is a current member of the American Medical Association (AMA) CPT Editorial Panel and the editorial board of the AMA's and ACR's Clinical Examples in Radiology newsletter. He is also a former member of the ACR Commission on Economics and chair of the ACR Economics Committee on Coding and Nomenclature. In addition, he served as ACR Advisor to the AMA CPT Editorial Panel from 2008 to 2017, the ACR said.

Copyright © 2019

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking