By staff writers

December 19, 2012 -- The U.S. Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) has published its final specifications for the 2014 edition of standards and certification criteria for electronic health records (EHR).

The final 2014 edition test method includes 48 test procedures and 18 sets of test data. They incorporate requirements mandated by the final stage 2 meaningful use rule. It was approved on December 14, 2012.

Only EHR systems and modules certified by an ONC Authorized Testing and Certification Body (ONC-ATCB) can be used by hospitals and eligible providers who participate in the federal health record system incentive payment program, commonly known as the "meaningful use" program.

The specifications can be accessed here.

Copyright © 2012

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking