By staff writers

March 5, 2012 -- The U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has issued a notice in the Federal Register inviting independent accreditation organizations to apply to become a CMS-designated organization for accrediting suppliers furnishing the technical component of advanced diagnostic imaging services.

The notice also includes the application guidelines for approval of organizations wishing to accredit these suppliers. The solicitation is limited to accrediting organizations that have not previously applied to participate in the advanced diagnostic imaging supplier accreditation program. Applications will be accepted through May 1, 2012, according to CMS.

Currently designated accreditation organizations include the American College of Radiology (ACR), the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC), and the Joint Commission (TJC). CMS' new invitation allows additional organizations an opportunity to apply to become a CMS-designated accreditation organization under the program. It does not affect the three currently designated organizations, which will continue to participate in the program, CMS said.

Copyright © 2012

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or Email Address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking