Calif. radiation reporting fix-up bill sent to governor
Article Thumbnail ImageJuly 6, 2012 -- AB 510, the California bill that amends the California Radiation Protection Act that took effect on July 1, passed the state Legislature on Thursday and was sent to Gov. Jerry Brown for his signature at the close of the workday.
Member Sign In:
MemberID or E-mail Address:  
Do you have a AuntMinnie.com password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  



Brown now has 12 days -- until July 17 -- to sign the bill, veto it entirely or by line item, or let it take effect without his signature, the governor's office told AuntMinnie.com. The law was given "urgency" status, meaning that it will take effect immediately when signed, or after the 12-day waiting period expires, whichever applies.

AB 510 modifies several elements of the original law (SB 1237) that radiology proponents considered impractical or poorly written. This includes a provision that, as originally written, might have triggered a report to the state's Department of Public Health whenever a contiguous scan area was irradiated with CT, however routine (e.g., scanning the lower lungs during an abdominal CT scan).

Brown has made no statement favoring or opposing the legislation.